It is what we are ready to die for, that shows what we want to live for

WhatWeLiveFor

I have often thought and asked people about what is that which keeps us going in life. Where do we find our inspiration to live. The answer that I found is really very simple. It is what we are ready to die for that shows what we want to live for. And, I just cannot stress enough how true I have found this to be.

As I go about, I will start with myself. All along in my life, I have stood for and advocated humility, honesty, faith, justice to others, caring for people and serving the society. And that is pretty much what my life has been about. Past 6 years of my life, I have spent working at several NGOs, often missing out on events that my friends went to or the college memories that they built. But, the beautiful times spent at Sankalp simply transcends everything else. And to speak about honesty and justice, I cannot stress enough how much regard I have for these two traits. I have been mocked for it, ridiculed at, but I just never gave up on them. And you know what, right here, right now, I feel blessed to have carried these traits without waver.

I have cared for people all my life, I value relationships. I have gone beyond what is expected to be there when people needed me. I have never really bothered about whether we talked much during the normal times. But, in times of crisis and in the hour need, they sure could rely on me. It might me hard to believe, but no one asks for big favors. It is only the small that matters. Waiting to receive a friend with food as he comes out of exam, dropping a friend to airport in the middle of night because she is scared to go alone, accompanying a friend to hospital for his headache, cooking for a group of friends. These are such simple acts that have helped me to be connected to people around me.

I think when you look back to your life, you need to be able to answer the question – What has your life been the sum total of? I can say, I did live for what I could have I died for.

My Travel Blogs on Travel Hatke:

Vivek Kumar – Travel Hatke

My Travel Board On Pinterest:

One thought on “It is what we are ready to die for, that shows what we want to live for

  1. Beautiful experiences and a thoughtful write! “All along in my life, I have stood for and advocated humility, honesty, faith, justice to others, caring for people and serving the society.” Very inspiring to hear! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

