On Doing Different and Never Leaving A Place Without Leaving An Impact

different

We have this very common question asked during our job interviews – “Where do you see yourself five years down the line?” For most of us, it is just another interview question, and we start preparing for it not much time before the interview, not giving much thought to the question. But, this question has made me think on why is it so important to answer this question and what is the answer to the question.

None of us should have any doubt on the importance of answering this question. If one gives a thought, this one single question can decide where you want to be in life, what do you stand for. On the second part, I have thought and thought deep about the answer for this question. And it turns out for me, the answer was really simple. It was there all along, only the scheme of things take their own time to unravel. All I have ever wanted to do was to never leave a place without leaving an impact. If something or someone is bad, leave an impact and make it good. If they are good, make it even better. Every single action of mine has been motivated by this one beautiful idea.

Going back in time, I reminisce about the college days and recall how directly or indirectly I have been faithfully following this idea. A major part of my college days was devoted towards Sankalp, a social NGO focused toward teaching kids from very poor section. We were a small group in the beginning and very people were involved. But, we worked diligently, creating the syllabus, bringing in funds, teaching kids, getting them admitted in schools, publishing finance reports, improving facilities at centre, bringing in new volunteers, expanding at other locations, forming teams, organize events and so much more. It brought so much joy to us, to be able to give back something to society. What was even more wonderful was the impact we were creating. Sankalp is now a name familiar to every single person living in and around the campus of NIT, Jamshedpur. The sections of society for whom we worked hold so much respect for us. We now have centres in other states and we are now managing 500+ kids. Amidst the hopelessness that comes in seeing every corrupt and ill-managed in a government run institution, Sankalp really stood for transparency and selflessness.

I remember the times when it was getting late after teaching the kids, and I needed to return to college. But, the kids would surround me on all sides, hold me tightly, and ask me not to go. The joy in my eyes, it can not be bought. Nothing in my life has ever given me so much peace of mind. Most importantly, it made me realize the impact that one good action can have.

Our NGO, Sankalp:

Sankalp

My Travel Blogs on Travel Hatke:

Vivek Kumar – Travel Hatke

My Pinterest Board on Travel:

4 thoughts on “On Doing Different and Never Leaving A Place Without Leaving An Impact

  1. “I remember the times when it was getting late after teaching the kids, and I needed to return to college. But, the kids would surround me on all sides, hold me tightly, and ask me not to go. The joy in my eyes, it can not be bought. Nothing in my life has ever given me so much peace of mind. Most importantly, it made me realize the impact that one good action can have.” True! Not a new car or expensive clothes… Helping out, and making an impact, should make us even happier on top of the happiness being grateful can give us! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

